Alan McGonagle

Alan McMonagle is a writer living in Galway, Ireland. He holds an MA in Writing from National University of Ireland, Galway. He has received awards for his work from the Professional Artists’ Retreat in Yaddo (New York), the Fundación Valparaiso (Spain), the Banff Centre for Creativity (Canada) and the Arts Council of Ireland.

He has published two collections of short stories, Psychotic Episodes (Arlen House, 2013) and Liar Liar (Wordsonthestreet, 2008) and contributed stories to many journals in Ireland and North America including The Valparaiso Fiction Review, Natural Bridge, Grain, Prairie Fire, The Penny Dreadful, The Stinging Fly and the anthology, Young Irelanders (ed. Dave Lordan, New Island, 2015)

His radio plays, Oscar Night (2014), People Walking On Water (2017) and Shirley Temple Killer Queen (2019) have been produced and broadcast as part of RTE’s Drama on One season..

In November 2015 he signed a two-book deal with PICADOR and his first novel, Ithaca, was published in March, 2017 and was nominated for the Desmond Elliott Prize for first novels, the International Dublin Literary Award and an Irish Book Award.



Apr 10 2020


8:00 am - 8:30 pm
QR Code

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *